Board of Directors

Executive Director

Amy Haak, Ph.D., is the founder of Conservation Geography. She has over 30 years of experience in the application of geospatial technologies to conservation planning, environmental characterization, and ecological assessments.  She has recently returned to lead Conservation Geography after a decade with Trout Unlimited’s national science program.  She has a B.A. in Geography from Dartmouth College and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Geography with a minor in conservation biology from the University of Idaho.  She currently serves on the board of Advocates for the West and has served on the board of Idaho Rivers United, Idaho Conservation League, and the advisory board of the College of Science at the University of Idaho.


Rick Johnson is the Executive Director of the Idaho Conservation League.  He has directed the organization for nearly 20 years, providing leadership on the protection of Idaho’s wildlife and wild lands as well as the clean air and water that is essential for healthy and sustainable communities.


Laird Lucas founded Advocates for the West in 2003 and currently serves as the Director of Litigation.  He is a 1986 graduate of Yale Law School and has led Advocates for the West to an 85% win record for the environment.


Wendy Wilson is the Executive Director of Snake River Alliance.  She has been a voice for the environment for over 25 years, founding Idaho Rivers United in 1990 and later serving as the Director of Rivers, Energy and Climate for River Network.